God Bless the USA: Upcoming Trip to Georgia, Texas, and Tennessee

{This post is dedicated to my child’s ill-timed nap that is preventing us from going to story time at the book store where I get my socialization with other mamas for the week.}

Y’all,

I’m getting so excited about our upcoming trip.  I would like to take this opportunity to list all of the food I plan to eat while I’m there.  Do you think I’m kidding?  No, I am not kidding.

Atlanta, GA

KLC and I start and end our journey in Atlanta so we can have some time with Baby K (as a reminder, Baby K = my youngest sister, not to be confused with my actual baby, KLC) and A&M, my two sisters and my brother-in-law.  Maybe we can also see some friends while we’re there, like my dear college friend M and her kids?  Of course, I hope to see my sisters’ friends as well, especially my faithful blog reader CJ (holla).

  • Chick-fil-a: OOH maybe I could actually go to CFA headquarters during this trip?  Thank you, blog post, for reminding me that this would be possible.
  • Fancy Taco Place: maybe the one we went to during my bachelorette weekend? Is that inappropriate?  Bringing your baby to the restaurant you went to for your bachelorette party?
  • West Egg: brunch
  • Highland Bakery: delicious things

Houston, TX

T will join KLC and I for a long weekend in Houston.  HI ALL OUR HOUSTON FRIENDS!  WE’RE SO EXCITED TO SEE YOU! Also, we’re excited to eat.

  • Paulie’s: if not for a full meal at least for cookies
  • Lupe Tortilla or El Tiempo: OBVIOUSLY we have to get fajitas and margaritas.  Did you know that there is NO Mexican restaurant on the island?  El Tiempo in our old neighborhood would be my choice in a perfect world with no limitations, but Lupe’s will do in a pinch.
  • Whole Foods/Central Market prepared foods area: do you think this is a joke?  It is not a joke.  I already have a date with some mom friends to go to WF for lunch.  I didn’t do my grocery shopping at these places, but I love their prepared foods areas for a casual meal or a place to get a snack and people watch.  Plus, it seems perfect when we have a handful of mobile babies tagging along.
  • Phoenicia Specialty Foods: Another grocery store that sells amazing Mediterranean foods and has a really great prepared-foods area.  I think I might just go for a huge block of feta and a bag of fresh-baked pitas.
  • Star pizza: excellent Chicago-style pizza, enough said.
  • Sam’s Burger’s, Fries, and Pies: DELICIOUS burger place right by my old workplace.  A gem of the suburbs.

The list could go on, but I don’t want to set myself up for disappointment.  There are only so many meals in one weekend.  Houston has such delicious food.

Hendersonville, TN

As T heads back to our island life, KLC and I will fly for a week’s visit to Tennessee.  We will start out in Hendersonville at his parents’ house.  I have never lived in Hendersonville, and we normally eat at home with his family so this is the only place I don’t have a big to-eat list for.  Everything his mother cooks is delicious.

I would love to go into Nashville at some point to check out a trendy new place, but I don’t have anything in particular in mind.  Any suggestions, folks?

Kingsport, TN

After Hendersonville, we will head to Kingsport for a few days to visit with my parents and friends.  We hope to see my brother and his family sometime during this part of the trip as well.

  • Chick-fil-a: Should definitely hit this up several times during the two weeks we’re in the US.
  • Pal’s: Frenchie fries and chocolate milkshakes.
  • Ridgewood Barbeque: Who’s with me?  It’s a trek to get out to this place in Bluff City, but it’s one of the very top BBQ places in the WORLD.  In my world, anyway.

OK, back to my sad, hungry island life…I know you feel bad for me.

 

8 thoughts on “God Bless the USA: Upcoming Trip to Georgia, Texas, and Tennessee

  1. Rotier’s Restaurant in Nashville has good burgers, or at least they did when I was in college. It’s not new or trendy, but if you’re looking for someplace to go, give it a try.

    On Wed, Jan 8, 2014 at 9:41 AM, T and K, etc.

  2. Oh I love this. & I completely understand. We aren’t set to go back to the states for awhile but I definitely have already planned where we will eat. Love you

    • Yes, I know you know, Brooke. In fact, when I consider your food situation I am a little embarrassed that I would even make a big deal about this. Thanks for commenting!

  3. SO I don’t know how I skipped right over my shout out! I just read all the activities and hoped I would get to join and just didn’t see the direct shout out to me!! Oh thanks Kari, that makes me feel loved!!

What are your thoughts?

