Highs and Lows of Motherhood, Part 2

Now, since I didn’t die of cyanide poisoning, I will tell you about my most proud moment of motherhood.  Strike that–this is my second most proud moment behind the moment I delivered all 9 lb 5 oz of her with her 14″ head.

T is currently looking for a job.  I haven’t written much about that because it’s his thing (thought it affects me for sure!) and it’s very serious and real and stressful.  Blogs are more fun and newsy and lighthearted, so I’d rather just let you all know when we decide on our next step rather than take you through the gory details.  Call me for a chat, though, if you want to know more and aren’t some random lurker who doesn’t have my cell number.

In the midst of T’s job search and my maternity leave, I checked my email when I woke up (does every couple check their email from bed as their first order of business each day or is that just us?) and found an ironic note.  I laughed.  “Hey honey, read this.”

Subject: Project Management Opportunity

Dear K,

My name is W with Fancy Tech Company. I am writing to see if you would be interested in talking with us about a project management opportunity with our company. I am not a recruiter. I am partner with Fancy Tech Company and am reaching out to you after personally reviewing hundreds of candidates here on LinkedIn. Your experience and skill set stands out, and we would very much like to talk with you about Fancy Tech Company, and the project manager position we have open.

So what would any normal person on maternity leave with a 9 week old baby do?  Of course, I wrote him back!

Dear W,

Thank you for contacting me.  I am happy with my current company and position, but I am in the midst of some transition, so I would be interested in learning more about Fancy Tech Company and the position you have open.

We arranged a time, and W called me the next day.  My plan was to have KLC down for a nap during the call.  I wondered whether I would tell W that I was on maternity leave, but I decided, “Hmm, 50/50.  If she cries, I’ll tell him I’m on maternity leave.  If she doesn’t, I won’t.”  Simple.

When the phone rang, I didn’t see it, and KLC definitely wasn’t down for a nap.  She was hungry.  I latched her on and called him back.  We talked (and she ate) for 42 minutes.  She didn’t make a sound.  He invited me in for an in-person interview the next week.

I love being a woman.

What are your thoughts?

