Saving the World: Part 2

Read Part 1 about reporting a dangerous street condition here.

I just walked to my around-the-corner coffee shop again.  On the way, I passed a spot where I usually get a whiff of natural gas, which leads me to think, “maybe I should call the gas company to report that?”

Only today, I did.  About 2-3 hours ago.  And when I walked to the coffee shop just now, three Centerpoint Energy workers, a utility truck, and a jackhammer were at work, investigating the problem.

Hooray.

I want to keep this post short and sweet, but I can’t help but tell a story on my former roommate J.  During the first winter we lived together, we started noticing a natural gas odor outside our front door.  We didn’t think much of it, since it was faint, but one day a neighbor approached her and said, “You really should call about that natural gas odor.”

So we did.  And they came and checked.

J met the PG&E technician who came with a natural gas detector.  He explained what he found to her,  “It detects a few ppms here, and when you get close to the ground, the ppms go up.”

J: “Well, how many ppms are normal?”

PG&E guy: “Zero.”

HA.

PG&E fixed the leaky natural gas pipe to our house quickly–I trust that Centerpoint Energy will do the same in my neighborhood.  Moral of the story: If you smell natural gas somewhere abnormal, you should report it to your local utility.  ZERO ppms are normal, right J?

Update: as I head home from the coffee shop around 6:30 PM, I see the workmen still out there, working to find the leak.

What are your thoughts?

