Newness in a New Year

In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.  The earth was without form and void, and darkness was  over the face of the deep.  And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.  (Gen 1:1-2, ESV)

T and I are starting a Bible reading plan.  In view of our (my) poor historical performance in sticking with reading plans, we chose a 2-year plan, and we haven’t fallen behind yet.  It starts, as most do, with Genesis 1.  On my first new year’s day as a married woman, these introductory verses helped me remember some words from a friend that continue to encourage me.

At a going-away party my dear roommates threw me in California, attendees wrote words of wisdom on postcards.  Many people tend to be poor performers when asked to be wise on the spot, but these words of wisdom were all really, really good.  My friend T, a mother of two young boys, wrote that she likens her developing marriage to a developing child.  At first there is lots of excitement but the baby (marriage) doesn’t know how to function smoothly and can’t be expected to.  It’s new.  As the marriage goes on, the relationship gain new skills…communication, insight into the other person, love, patience…  Maturity takes a long time.

How freeing.  I’m not expected to know what to do in relation to T all the time.  He doesn’t know how to relate to me.  But we shouldn’t expect to, not yet.  And there is so much to look forward to as we experience life together as husband and wife and develop into more of who God wants us to be.  (Great news for a woman who thought marriage looked a little boring from the view of a very active and full single life.)

Thanks be to God that His Spirit hovers over the face of these waters of marriage.  He does not leave us to figure is out alone.

Bonus: When I read later in this chapter “And God blessed them saying, ‘Be fruitful and multiply and fill the waters in the seas, and let the birds multiply on the earth.’ ” (Gen 1:22), I thought I bet God likes Portlandia.

What are your thoughts?

